David Bowie, an iconic musician who reinvented himself throughout his impressive career, left a legacy of transformative music that continues to stand the test of time. With albums such as 1972’s “The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars,” Bowie showcased his creativity and range, creating unforgettable music that still resonates today. As a testament to his ingenuity, did you know that he once used a shoebox as a makeshift studio to record his early work? In this article, you’ll find a comprehensive list of all the David Bowie vinyl record albums you can add to your collection, alongside the best places to purchase them, and a complete overview of his prolific discography.

David Bowie AI Image

The Greatest David Bowie Vinyl Records for Sale

1967 – David Bowie Album Vinyl Record

Released in 1967

This debut album by David Bowie showcases the beginnings of the transformative artist’s work. With tracks like “Love You Till Tuesday” and “Rubber Band,” fans will have a chance to hear David Bowie in his early years with his unique blend of pop, rock, and folk elements.

1969 – Space Oddity Album Vinyl Record

Released in 1969

Space Oddity is David Bowie’s second studio album and features the iconic title track “Space Oddity”, which became Bowie’s first charting single. The album presents a folk-tinged rock music landscape, while the otherworldly themes and songwriting hint at the adventurous and experimental directions Bowie would take in the future.

1970 – The Man Who Sold the World Album Vinyl Record

Released in 1970

The Man Who Sold the World is David Bowie’s third studio album and features a heavier, more guitar-driven sound compared to his previous works. This album sees David Bowie delving into harder rock with songs like “Width of a Circle” and “Black Country Rock.” The famous title track is a moody, enigmatic exploration of love and alienation.

1971 – Hunky Dory Album Vinyl Record

Released in 1971

Hunky Dory is David Bowie’s fourth studio album and many consider it to be among his best. This album showcases Bowie’s diverse songwriting skills with tracks like “Changes,” “Life on Mars?”, “Oh! You Pretty Things,” and “Quicksand.” It is a milestone in his career, featuring a variety of musical styles, thoughtful lyrics, and Bowie’s unmistakable voice.

1972 – The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars Album Vinyl Record

Released in 1972

This classic concept album tells the story of Ziggy Stardust, a rock and roll alien sent to Earth to deliver a message of hope. Featuring tracks like “Starman,” “Moonage Daydream,” “Suffragette City,” and “Rock ‘n’ Roll Suicide”, it is a cornerstone of Bowie’s discography and is widely regarded as one of the greatest and most influential rock albums of all time.

1973 – Aladdin Sane Album Vinyl Record

Released in 1973

Aladdin Sane is David Bowie’s sixth studio album and a follow-up to his successful Ziggy Stardust album. With tracks like “The Jean Genie,” “Drive-In Saturday,” and the title track “Aladdin Sane,” this album showcases Bowie’s eclectic, glam-rock sound and marks the beginning of his departure from the Ziggy Stardust persona.

1973 – Pin Ups Album Vinyl Record

Released in 1973

Pin Ups is an album of cover songs by David Bowie, featuring his interpretations of songs by The Who, The Kinks, Pink Floyd, and more. Although it deviates from his previous original works, Bowie’s unique style and song choices make this album an interesting and enjoyable addition to his discography.

Full David Bowie Discography

  1. 1967 – David Bowie
  2. 1969 – Space Oddity
  3. 1970 – The Man Who Sold the World
  4. 1971 – Hunky Dory
  5. 1972 – The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars
  6. 1973 – Aladdin Sane
  7. 1973 – Pin Ups
  8. 1974 – Diamond Dogs
  9. 1975 – Young Americans
  10. 1976 – Station to Station
  11. 1977 – Low
  12. 1977 – “Heroes”
  13. 1979 – Lodger
  14. 1980 – Scary Monsters (and Super Creeps)
  15. 1983 – Let’s Dance
  16. 1984 – Tonight
  17. 1987 – Never Let Me Down
  18. 1993 – Black Tie White Noise
  19. 1995 – Outside
  20. 1997 – Earthling
  21. 1999 – Hours
  22. 2002 – Heathen
  23. 2003 – Reality
  24. 2013 – The Next Day
  25. 2016 – Blackstar